Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some think raising the petrol price is the most effective solution for reducing traffic jams and pollution. While it is one way to look at the problem of traffic and its related problems, I believe it is not the best method, and other solutions are necessary alongside it. On the one hand, by increasing the cost of petrol, fewer people may use their own cars for commuting and travel by public transportation systems such as trains, buses, or taxis, which can reduce the time being stuck in holdups behind a lot of vehicles. This way, not so much as before polluted gases like CO or NO would be produced and released into the air. Also, when the price of fuel is enhanced, the community would be encouraged to use another source of energy as fuel for transportation, like electric automobiles or hybrid ones, which are more environmentally friendly. On the other hand, some individuals who mostly have lower income, will be highly affected and suffer more, especially those who use their own cars to make ends meet. In this case, the government could offer tax discounts to persuade these people to purchase electrical or hybrid vehicles, or even provide instalment purchases for them to change their means of transport. Then, for traffic jams, putting down charges in rush hours could be another solution to decrease the number of cars in city centres. In conclusion, I think while raising the petrol price could be considered as an approach to resolve the congestion and pollution troubles, it is not the greatest strategy and needs other ways besides it to make a real change.