Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutable that parents play a crucial role in the whole growth of the children. Some people are of the opinion that peers and the context are also the two essential factors in the holistic progression of the infant. In my opinion, parents obviously play role in the early maturation, but the friends and the environment as well are important for the social development of the children. The primary reason why parents are important in the first few years because the basic needs of the child could only be addressed by the parent. The basic needs include building mother and child relationship. If in the first year of the progress, children are avoided by the mother, it will affect future relationships in the teenage age. It has been evidenced by Erikson, the father of developmental theory that if the child feels securely attached with the other, the children will perform effectively in future. On contrary, if the infant feels anxiously attached, it will have devastating consequences in future. Therefore, parenting styles are very essential in the first years of the progression of the children for secure attachment. On the other side, it has been argued that peers and context of the children affect more on holistic development. In the school-age from 4-16 years, children want to explore new things by making new friends and hence, friends and the environment such as school, community centre, music classes, and tuition centres become an essential part of their life. However, if children bullied by their peers in the classroom, it would disrupt the social functioning of the toddler. Additionally, children will not join the tuition and music classes and stay all the times in the house. This results in social exclusion of children from the world and leads to depression, anxiety, stick to the inner world, introvert, and inhibits social improvement. In conclusion, I believe that holistic development means personal needs need to be met, social, emotional, cognition, and psychological well-being. Hence, parents, friends, context such as television, and teachers, community have their different role in the growth.