Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, new technologies have influenced communication between people, and it has affected relationships in various ways. Under the circumstances, however, I strongly agree with the view that social networking sites are not healthy for individuals and society. First of all, these ‘virtual’ relationships can be a poor substitute for real friendships. For example, young individuals who spend an excessive amount of time surfing the web could become depressed and feel isolated from their family. An increasing number of netizens are indeed sharing their common interests online via games or forums. Nevertheless, people who are used to making friends with users online might find it difficult mixing with their peers in the real world. Besides, the most critical issue is the significant rise in crime on these networking sites, which can be extremely harmful to our society. It is easy for everyone to be anonymous on the internet, hence, security can be a serious concern. More specifically, Lawless individuals are more likely to take advantage of cyber citizens. For instance, they can misuse social media platforms in order to satisfy their needs by taking illegal methods, such as scamming, which is taking place across the globe every day. One famous example is “Dirty John”, an American true crime anthology TV series. This crime drama is based on a true story, in which the swindler met the victim on a social networking site and the entire family of the victim suffered from horrific consequences. To summarize, face-to-face interactions should never be replaced by virtual networking. Social media platforms are surely popular and entertaining for modern society, however, individuals should also be more careful while using such websites.