In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Owing to the recent surge in development of shopping complexes, small scale vendors have ceased operations. However, at least from the buyers' point of view, this development has numerous advantages. Large shopping avenues attract trusted brands and retailers who have a proven track record in customer satisfaction. Therefore, customers need not concern themselves with issues such as product quality and after-sales service. Moreover, as opposed to the limited variety of products offered by local shops, shopping centres provide a wide range of products across several categories for the customers to choose from. Also, contrary to the popular belief, the price points of products and merchandise in shopping malls are usually considerably low as compared to those in local shops. Apart from the benefits reaped by customers, the positive impact of the growing shopping industry on the economy is quite pronounced as well. While advancements in the shopping space have led to a decline in small scale shops, one cannot ignore the phenomenal boost in employment as a result of the construction of malls and complexes. From daily wage non-skilled workers to professional executives, a shopping mall has the potential to hire all of them. The value of a property is closely linked to its proximity to malls, hospitals and schools. Hence, the construction of shopping malls can have a domino effect on its locality and lead to the construction of hospitals, residential complexes and educational facilities. This, eventually, will bolster the economic growth of the nation. To conclude, the potential benefits of shopping centres and malls are comparatively more pronounced and outweigh the associated negative impacts. As far as the impacted small scale local shops are concerned, they can consider alternatives such as an online marketplace to reduce costs and grow their customer base.