In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

From the past decade, technology has advanced enormously. Among all the technology sectors, mobile phones have evolved a lot. Earlier, cellphones were used only for calling, however, with the mobile applications, now one can use them for shopping, communication and paying bills. This essay will illustrate both pros and cons of using mobile phones for payments. To commence with, paying for things using cellphones have a number of advantages. First of all, this trend has made people's lives easier. Now, they don't have to stand in a queue in front of an ATM to withdraw cash. Secondly, this development lends a helping hand in saving our environment as fewer trees are cut down to print notes. In addition, this phenomenon also helps in taking positive steps toward building a cashless economy. Likewise, people can save money as well by using these applications because they usually offer some discounts or coupons on payments. For instance, PayTM, PayPal are some famous payment applications used by masses. It is rightly said that every coin has a flip side. Thus, these phone apps have various drawbacks as well. Firstly, one can easily become a victim of an online scam by using these apps. Also, there is no surety of whether user's data, such as their card number or bank details are secured or not. Moreover, these applications are hard to use for elderly people as they are not usually familiar with using them. Similarly, if a person loses their phone, someone can misuse it to pay using these applications. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that, although paying using cellphone apps has brought a lot of convenience and comfort to people's lives. However, they can also lose their money if these apps are not secured. Governments should bring in some policies to ensure user data security and save masses from online frauds.