Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Nowadays, several vaccines are developed to prevent many deadly childhood diseases. Many people that believe that the government should create laws for parents to have their children immunized again common disease. While some individuals feel that it is the parents right to decide not to immunize their children. First, The government should make and implement the laws to vaccinate young or newborn children to protect them from having common diseases such as Polio, smallpox, chickenpox, hepatitis A or B, and many more. The law should be enforced strictly on all families whether they are rich or poor and the government should make sure that these vaccines are provided free of cost or at least at a reasonable price so all income group families could afford them. However, there are people who would not agree with this law because they consider that they have rights over their children and know what is best for them. Some parents lack awareness towards such topics, while some just avoid and do not care. Income level of families also determine their decision to vaccinate their kids. According to recent research, it was discovered that more than 70 per cent of the population in Sindh is hesitant to provide immunization to their children because of their low wages and expensive vaccines. In conclusion, laws should be strictly enforced on parents to vaccinate their children from common diseases, However, this decision should not be left on the parents as it might compromise a child's life.