Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. Which solution is better?

In the contemporary world, some residential areas in metropolises are created by high-rise towers, while others are made of houses consuming much space. While there are some benefits of tall buildings in housing areas, I believe that houses in a wider area provide better accommodations for people in megacities. On the one hand, there are some reasons why taller houses are beneficial to housing areas. First, by erecting skyscrapers, people can tackle overcrowding problems because they create living places that consume less space and accommodate more people. For example, if it were not for the ABC housing complex in Ho Chi Minh city, which includes ten high-rise buildings, the regional authority would not be able to provide apartments for more than ten thousand migrants from other parts of Vietnam in such a small three-kilometre square area. Another reason is that when living on high floors, residents can enjoy the bird-eye’s view from their apartments. This gives them an opportunity to unwind after an arduous day at work and experience the magnificent landscape that cannot be catered by low-rise houses. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that houses on a wider land are more advantageous. Although tall buildings can combat the difficulties caused by rising population, they cannot provide space for people to participate in outdoor activities. This means that only when living in wide houses can humans enjoy their lives to the full because they can also play sports in their garden, which helps them do exercises on a regular basis and prevent from glueing their eyes to the screen and leading a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, living in space-consuming houses can reduce the risk of myopia and obesity. In addition, there are some underlying perils of living in high places that can be avoided when building housing areas with houses stretching widely. Young infants, who are not aware of the height, can accidentally stumble upon objects near the balcony and fall from such a high building, resulting in death. Moreover, when unintentionally dropping an item from such a high place, residents in skyscrapers can cause injuries for people walking around. In conclusion, there are some promising outcomes of opting for high-rise condominiums. However, I believe that wide accommodations are a better choice because they encourage residents to be active and protect people from the dangers of falling and being physically damaged.