In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Today's world is full of digital transformation that has accelerated the dependency of folks on their electronic devices. As a result, in many countries, it is becoming increasingly popular to remunerate for things using mobile phone applications. In this essay, we will discuss the pros and cons that have caused due to such development. First and foremost, the current era is more inclined towards providing technology-based solutions, wherein the task of performing an activity becomes easier for the consumers. One such amendment is of e-payments that require to pay for a service with just a click thus, promoting the idea of a cashless economy. For instance, with the introduction of service providers like Paytm, PayPal, Google Pay etc. it has become highly convenient to transact with one's mobile device with mere a single tap. Firstly, it's a big time-saving option since there is no need to carry cash and change at all, else earlier people used to stand in the long queues near ATMs. Secondly, from the environment's perspective, it is a great achievement due to the reduction in paper-based currency. On the contrary, the aforementioned became a hectic task for those who are not familiar with technology, especially elderly people. Moreover, it is not a secure option as compared to the traditional methods. For example, if the phone gets stolen or lost, an individual's entire card or banking related information can be misused. Consequently, there are frequent cyber-attacks which cannot be easily identified by the masses and hence, they become a victim of these cybercrimes eventually. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that although every coin has two aspects, yet the advantages overweigh the disadvantages in the long run, so with proper consumer education and awareness program, the aforesaid phishing attacks can be avoided to an extent. Also, it is crucial for the authorities to incentivise the data security measures and prepare their people with the upcoming revolutionary changes.