Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Health services in any country are one of the key service areas which need to be addressed by large. This is because the health of the population, in general, is of great importance for its development. I believe that health services should be free of cost to some strata of the society, while if a person wishes to go any expensive or advanced treatment, they can opt for it by paying an additional fee. Firstly, in most of the countries, health services are divided into the public and private sector. In the public sector, the government should have a tie-up with the health companies and provide them with a yearly full body checkup free of cost. They can have tie-ups with some medical pathology or labs which conduct tests like eye checkup, blood test and ECG. Secondly, in developing countries, 40% of the population belong to the low-income group. The government should support their medical expenses as they might not be able to afford basic health amenities. For example, for the people staying in rural areas, the government can set up health camps every 6 months, ensure the babies get the polio vaccination which is very crucial for their health. On the other hand, there are many kinds of diseases or ailments whose treatments are very expensive, and the public sectors are not well equipped to provide them. In this case, a person can, at an additional fee goes through the treatment at a private hospital. If the person has the capacity to pay for these treatments and wishes to avail the services, he need not deprive himself of these services. For example, a person undergoing cancer treatment must go through many chemotherapy sessions which are very expensive. There are many private hospitals that have come up which provide world-class facilities. Hence, if a person wishes to treat himself, he can absolutely go for that option. To conclude, the government should try to support the people as far as possible. However, the citizens who have the luxury to afford the best treatments should go ahead and avail the best medical services, as health should not be compromised with.