Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

Even in today's globalized world, people are extremely proud of their cultures and traditions and want outsiders to adopt the same principles while they travel. Moreover, it is essential for a person to understand these customs as it makes it easier to socialize with fellow citizens. I agree with the statement and shall discuss this in greater detail along with an apt example. Nowadays, travel and tourism is part of a community's values and ethics. When we say communities, these are close-knit groups which are well associated with their practices and traditions. For instance, if a traveller visits India, it is easier to gel up with people if he speaks a few phrases of the local language, tries Indian cuisine, as well as takes part in festivals and ceremonies. Firstly, problems arise when tourist eat in public parks or are involved in burglaries which may be against the local protocols. Another example is that of Singapore where a traveller cannot enter office buildings and private spaces, if he does, would be committed as a crime. Secondly, millions of people find their ways to countries like Australia and Canada every year for a better life as permanent residents or students. They face issues when they are unable to find their local cuisine in the small towns where they reside. Nevertheless, if they try different dishes from these places, they would be used to trying something else which will help them in the future. In conclusion, with the travel industry booming at a rapid pace, I strongly believe that people should try to understand the importance of local traditions and culture. However, only then would they be able to adjust to these communities.