Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The justice systems in every country may differ from one another especially when it comes to capital punishment. Some nations view the death penalty as a tool to control violence and a fair consequence for the people who acted in serious crimes. I disagree with the correlation between executing someone to a country’s security and violence rate. Many factors need to be considered such as motives behind the crimes and the probability of the criminals showing positive character development. The reasoning behind someone to act against the law can be varied and it has to be taken into consideration by the justice officials before sentencing him or her to imprisonment or the death penalty. For example, during in 1942 in French, a person could be sentenced to lifetime slavery to capital punishment because of a loaf of bread. However, at that time, the economy in French was not in its prime condition and many people became unemployed which led them unable to fulfil their daily need such as buying foods or clothes. This crime was driven from desperation for survival and the crime rate could have been solved with regulations made by the government that may lead to an increase in job availability, thus, no need for capital punishment to be in place. Every human has the inner conscience that enables them to discern an action to be good or bad. However, for some, this ability might be corrupted by radical ideologies and peer pressures. For example, in America, for all criminals who show positive nature transformation during their period in prison, they may be eligible to get a shorter sentence period. This regulation also supports that humans are capable to change for the better. In addition, the criminals can contribute to society again once released from the prison and, as their inner conscience improve, there is a high chance they will not turn back to criminals. Whereas condemnation nullifies the probability of someone’s character to improve and take their life. In conclusion, the death penalty is not a reasonable solution to aim for security and control violence. A further investigation regarding the crime motives and character development have to be taken into account as the law enforcement deals with a human being that deserves a chance to live and learn from their mistakes. The law not only applies to layout rules and punishments but also a chance for us to show mercy and consider the lives of the people against it.