In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that can be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

It is true that many countries are experiencing a considerable increase in life expectancy due to the development in all areas of the world. Although there will be undoubtedly some negative effects of this trend, these potential problems can be mitigated if several practical solutions are implemented. As the trend of an aging population, several related issues can be anticipated. One primary challenge is that it could place a greater burden on the healthcare system because of the growth in elderly populations. That is to say, the old tend to face more chronic diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and that requires long-term medical treatment which is extremely expensive. As a result, governments might have to spend a substantial budget on healthcare to serve those demands and this will put increased financial pressure on old-age support systems. Further pressure can be put on the economy due to the workforce shortage. A major factor leading to this problem is that the working-age population who pay income taxes decline while there would be an increase in the proportion of retired people claiming pension benefits. The combination of these trends could lead to lots of negative consequences to both government spending and the quality of countries’ economies. However, this is not an insurmountable issue and many measures could be taken to manage the risks associated with population aging. One solution to overcome this problem would be for governments to support healthcare for all by focusing on prevention such as a healthy lifestyle instead of providing treatment, which would result in improving the health quality of the elderly. By doing this, the pressure put on the healthcare system could be deducted. Another temporary way to solve these problems is to raise the official retirement age so that the number of the working population could increase. Although this step could be effective immediately, people should focus on long-term measures by educating about money management and saving for retirement. This could make older people have the ability to take care of themselves so that it will reduce the burden on both governments and individual’s budgets. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as growing in the size and proportion of older persons in many countries’ populations