Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. What is your opinion?

Since the advancement in technology, many countries have been investing in exploring other planets. Though this can help humankind in the future when citizens cannot survive on Earth, it may not be a priority right now. Critics argue that exploring the Universe is expensive and more money should be spent on things of the essence. To begin, there has been a growing media coverage which has had an impressive influence on people's attitude towards the government squandering extra funds in space expeditions. Many believe that hard-earned cash should be spent on improving more essential things on Earth, such as climate change. To illustrate, BBC News, in 2019 reported that a shuttle costs around 10 billion dollars to build and function for exploring space and the first model is never a final product which means that the exact cost of one mission is more likely greater. This is an enormous amount taken from taxpayers pockets to discover unknown things, while crisis such as global warming is on the edge of impacting the world. If the government were to spend even one- third of Astrophysics money into protecting the globe, there can be a reduction in the effect of climate change. In addition to the climate crisis, it is undeniable that some funding for Astronomy is required to protect our planet from asteroid collisions, and other dangers. However, the funds should be capped, and reduced when other more necessary situations are in the picture. For example, in the year 2020, the World Health Organisation reported that more than 5 billion people died of Covid-19 virus. The authorities should have stepped in when the virus first became known to kill people. However, this was not the case, many nations did not devote financial resources towards protecting people instead of contributing money to Tesla owner's project to go to Mars. Based on this report, it is highly evident that many countries pour immense money into Astrophysics projects and do little towards more essential things. To conclude from the aforementioned examples, I firmly believe that the authorities should limit the amount of funding in space adventures as it is highly-costly and no benefit to inhabitants of Earth. Alternatively, more money should be devoted to the key things which are affecting the human race currently.