News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Investigative journalism puts an individual in a highly powerful & sensitive position at the same time. Those pioneering news outfits are under a fair amount of pressure from opposing forces, and the authorities that are in the business of managing opinions. I believe that news management and packaging it well to present it to the public at large is a mighty responsibility, and there are several factors that influence the filtering process.  There are many people who believe that manipulation of news is a strategy that should be shunned by all citizens at large. We have free press laws in place which should enable us to get the unfiltered reality, however, I feel sometimes telling it exactly how it is can be dangerous to society. The media is controlled by governing authorities to maintain peace and keep the citizens in balance. Whereas the media manages public opinion well by not lying flatly to its viewers. For instance, a major tool used by media channels nowadays is debating, wherein they leave it to the public to make their own assumptions. On the contrary, no sane individual is accustomed to bad news, we all hear about terrible occurrences, on a daily basis we are surrounded by crime, death, untoward natural accidents, politics and the list is endless. Hearing and reading negative news on a daily basis does leave a bad taste in your mouth, but does anyone get used to negativity, we all live in the hope of a better future. We human beings have very short-lived attention spans, and we naturally gravitate towards happiness thus, I do not think we get used to bad news. However, yes at the same point I do wish that these news churning business houses would dedicate a small proportion of their prime time towards sharing positive happenings in the world. I truly believe the scale has not tipped entirely, and there is enough good in the world as it is bad. I know for a fact that a huge majority lives in the hope that the news bulletin would tell us about how a man risked his life to save his neighbour, or how a child was rescued by a stranger.  I would like to conclude by saying that the management of news is done to manage public opinion, and sometimes it may lead to quite a bit of negativity. However, at the same time, there is enough positivity in the world, all you have to do is change the channel.