Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can government do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It is true that humans are responsible for devastating the environment but we can also take steps towards the protection of the environment. In this essay, I will discuss various factors that lead to environmental problems and suggest some measures that the government and individuals can take to address them. There are numerous factors which are damaging the surroundings but the two main threats are air pollution and garbage. Hazardous gases are emitted from factories and automobiles running on the roads leading to air pollution. Moreover, excessive consumption of consumer goods leads to the production of more waste. Household and industrial waste not only contaminates the earth but also pollutes the river and ocean. The ministry can effectively participate to address the issue by introducing various environmental laws and regulations. These laws should be imposed on all kinds of factories and also those industries which lead to air pollution. These types of industries are automobiles and airlines sectors. The authority should focus more on ‘green taxes’ than ‘corporate taxes’. In addition, it should invest in public transport facilities so that people will want to adopt them. Individual people should also take responsibilities for the impact they have on their surroundings. They should travel via public transport more than their private vehicles. Individuals can also take more steps to protect the environment. Firstly, individuals can use those kinds of products/items which have reuse and recycle characteristics. Secondly, they can refuse to take plastic bags if offered by someone while shopping and promote the use of paper or cloth bags. It is important for people to realize that responsible consumption is the way forward. By reusing, recycling and prohibiting plastic, we can help to reduce waste. In conclusion, both the government and individuals should participate to protect the habitat and play their respective role in addressing this grave issue.