Prison is the best punishment for criminals. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, the felony rate has increased in many developed countries beyond limits. Many crimes are being registered by citizens with the help of mobile and internet. But what is the most effective way of dealing with lawlessness in society? A group of people opine that jail is the right place where criminals must be penalized, while others deem that there are several other means for punishing the criminals. I personally, reckon that criminals should not be locked in cells and I will substantiate my views along with an example in the following paragraphs. First of all, life in prison is quite comfortable for the inmates where they have access to services like television, radio, air conditioners and fans. Moreover, they not only have cell phones but also have an internet connection to their devices. For example, the actor Sanjay Dutt had the privilege of home food while he was completing his tenure at Poona Central Jail. Secondly, the jail serves as an institute of wrongdoing where criminals not only improve their network but also learn other sorts of crimes. Furthermore, to illustrate pick-pocketers and shoplifters are imprisoned with either rapists or murderers thus wasting our tax money in the wrong direction. If prisons do not serve as a community for deterrence to the criminals there is no point to keep them there. On the other hand, criminals must be punished in order to teach them a lesson and an example must be set for others that if they commit the same heinous crimes they shall also face the same criminal proceedings. In addition to this, many prisons behave as a rehab clinic to prisoners where they can get a formal education and learn some sort of a job in order to fit into society. To exemplify, the jails in Dubai are affiliated to local Universities from where the inmates can get some sort of a degree or formal education so as to find themselves a job. To recapitulate, although it is a common belief that the jails are the place where criminally minded people belong some argue. I believe that prisons must be a kind of rehab and deterrence centre where people must learn how to quit misconduct and fit into society as a responsible citizen. Personally, I think jails are not the best place for criminals.