Some people get into debt by buying things they do not need and can not afford . What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Considering today's society, some people are putting themselves in serious financial difficulties due to buying objects that, in fact, they do not need, or even worse, they do not have the condition to afford them. Life status might be the main reason why people behave in such a way that they put themselves in serious financial risks. To overcome or to avoid having such a problem, I believe that one thing that they should consider is to learn how to control their money. There are many reasons hidden in this high level of consumption. Although, most of the items acquired by these people are not essential in their daily lives, they tend to put themselves in such a place in order to achieve a high status in their society. In fact, the number of people being considered digital influencers has considerably increased in the last 5 years. Additionally, the false satisfaction of having new things or showing off online compels them to buy objects that are out of their budget, just to make such an impression. For instance, a recent study has shown that 85% of the items purchased for people with high debt in credit cards are used only once or at most twice. The simplest action of money control might have significant impact in those that present financial problems. When you are taught about how to manage your money and your finances, you start to pay attention how you are spending your money. In fact, one of the basics rules in finances courses is to write down how much is being spent on each one of the different sections: food, transport, health, leisure activities, among others. Therefore, people tend to see, in numbers, the real amount that each part accounts for. In conclusion, the knowledge of managing the individual finances is an important action to be considered for those who are in financial difficulties due to their high consumption of unnecessary or unaffordable things.