It is suggested that young people should undertake a period of unpaid work to help people in the community. Does it bring more benefits of drawbacks to the community and young people?

Some people usually say that it is important for youngsters to participate in social programs which are related to unpaid work. In my opinion,it brings more benefits once community can count with extra help and teenagers can learn about diversity and gain experience with those working programs. Firstly, the problem of poor communities is related not only to the lack of resources but also the lack of working force. Therefore, the government is constantly taking measures and creating programs to undermine and balance that situation. Although a lot has been done, there still to much to achieve. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Rio de Janeiro, in Brazil, has shown that the major problem in helping communities is that there are not enough volunteers to take care of the job. Secondly, it is growing up in the world the necessity of being connected to people and human. Hence, to involve teenagers with neighbourhood problems should bring them more mature experience about life and lead them to a more significant existence in the future. To illustrate that, an article published by Forbes magazine last year compared the activity of ten genius that changed human life in the past hundred years. They have found that those personalities also had experienced community labour in some period of life. To conclude, not only the society could be benefited if more teenagers were able to help but also teenagers could develop a more mature view of life and be better prepared to live a more significant life in future.