Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that using mobile phones during class should be allowed because they browse additional learning materials. Nevertheless, this essay agrees with others who think that they should prohibit the use of gadgets because they will interfere with their concentration. On the one hand, using cell phones in the classroom will allow pupils to enrich their study materials from the internet. This is because as they receive lectures from the teacher, they can concurrently browse extra explanations about the topic. Some matters may need further explanation and children need illustrations and extra material to understand the subject. For example, when the teacher explains photosynthesis, this process has very detailed steps and each step will be easily understood by children if there are pictures. Thus looking for illustrations about photosynthesis will help pupils to absorb the information better. However, these kinds of illustrations can be provided by the teacher using a projector rather than letting them browse themselves. On the other hand, restraining students from utilising mobile phones during lectures will allow them to focus. This is because when they are able to freely access the internet, they will open apps that do not support their learning. This will distract their concentration and end up focusing on something else rather than studying. For instance, research that involved students from many schools in Surabaya in 2018, has shown a group of students whose phones are left at home have better attention compared to the other group who bring gadgets to school. Due to this reason, this essay believes that applying this rule has a better benefit to the juveniles because they are poor in self-control to keep themselves from using their phones during class. In conclusion, although allowing juveniles to use their gadget will help them during the lecture to browse additional materials, letting them use their mobiles only distract them from studying.