Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society?

The justice system and laws are different around the world, especially when it comes to capital punishment. Some nations view the death penalty as a tool to control violence and a fair consequence for those people who act in serious crimes. I do not completely agree with the correlation between executing someone to a country’s security and violence rate. Many factors need to be considered such as motives behind the crimes. Certainly, without strict punishment,our lives would be less secure and crimes could increase dramatically. However, all legal system and government policies should work together to reach good results in criminality rate. It is complex to determine which law can fit better to each place. For instance, the United States is a federal system, with a central federal government and individual governments for each of the states. Each state has its own independent judicial system (state courts) as does the United States itself. Therefore, not the entire United States allows capital punishment, it’s up to each state to decide about it. I understand that each country with its own justice system needs to develop a fair and competent system based on efficient laws. The Brazilian Criminal Code does not allow capital punishment. Although Brazil has a well-developed Criminal Code, the judicial system is not efficient due to failures during its procedures. For this reason, the impunity is so high in this nation. Finally, I am convinced that the death penalty is not the main solution to reduce criminality and control violence. However, governments must implement an efficient system and laws in order to have a better result in violence rates.