Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average people. Is this a positive or negative development?

A certain number of nations allocate funds for professional athletic facilities, which are available only for first-class sportspeople, but not for ordinary citizens. In my opinion, it is rather an unfavourable development than a positive one. First, the government should take care of the health and physical development of all citizens and not only sports elites. This is because every working citizen pays taxes and should have equal rights for social amenities including specialized sports centres. Thus, funding of special-purpose sports facilities might be considered as social inequality, especially if they were not available for a regular person. For example, when I had decided to start jogging, I was completely frustrated by the fact that a running ring with an excellent soft covering was not allowed for training if a person was not a member of the national team. Some people might argue that top athletes should have priority because they represent a country on the world stage. However, despite the fact that international competitions and the reputation of the country are important, investing in professionals' needs only does not pay off in the long term because the construction and maintenance of sports halls are highly expensive. Meanwhile, modern society has other crucial issues, which are in demand for funds such as the health care system, city infrastructure, and environmental issues. In conclusion, I think that the latest tendency among certain governments to invest in sports facilities for superior sportspersons leaving average people behind is a negative trend because every citizen should have equal rights. Moreover, in terms of revenue from international events funding of these elite sport objects is not profitable.