Some people say that advertising encourages people to buy things they do not need. Others say that advertisements are important sources of information about new products. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different opinions about advertisements. Although some say that they are an important tool for making new products known because of their effectiveness, I believe that they encourage individuals to buy their products thanks to their persuasion power. Firstly, the main reason why advertisements are important sources of information is that, unless the company is well known, the only effective way to make its own product known is through this tool. Advertisements are an extremely effective means of communication with the customer; since they can be spread very easily across numerous platforms and be in contact with many individuals for a prolonged period of time. For example, a company can put advertisements across phones, websites, and computers through the investment of few financial resources. As a result, since many individuals frequently use these sorts of platforms, they are constantly engaged by this tool. This demonstrates that advertisements are easily accessible by customers, which makes their products known. Nevertheless, I believe that advertisements are more of a persuasion tool, that encourages people into buying unnecessary things. The main principle behind them is to manipulate their feelings and to take advantage of the irrationality of human nature; this is done in order to induce customers into spontaneous buying. For instance, many companies adopt the strategy of limited discounts on their products. This induces the "fear of missing out" on their own customer, and consequently the need to buy their products. This shows that advertisements exploit human nature in order to make customers buy things that they don't need. In summary, while various individuals think of advertisements as an information tool for new products, I believe that it is more of a persuasion tool; that is made only to induce customers into buying their products.