All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?

In recent years, the youth are attracted more towards fast foods and have a lesser interest in nutritious food. As a result, parents are facing problems with an increase in the weight of their offspring. In this essay, we will discuss the problems related to obesity and the possible solutions which we can implement to be rid of the concern. Firstly, with the emerging COVID-19 pandemic, people are barred from going out and follow their daily routine. Therefore, everyone is bound within the four walls of their homes and carry out a minimal amount of work. For instance, electronic gadgets appear to be one of the best ways to pass time, which leads to laziness and causes the body to accumulate fat. For example, as part of day-to-day work, an individual, after completing his online classes, has lunch and prefers resting on the couch while playing on his mobile phone. Hence, to overcome such problems, parents must encourage their children to work out or practise yoga in their leisure time. Secondly, with the increase in population, a lot of construction is going on to create business and residential infrastructure. Thus, there are fewer playgrounds and gardens left, where people can gather and play. To illustrate, youngsters, over the past few years have stopped going out to play due to a lack of playing space and have instead developed interest in video games and social media applications. As these interests do not involve physical activities, gaining weight is the obvious outcome. So, the government's town plan and building regulations must mandate play areas and help in mitigating the increasing problem of obesity. Finally, with correct guidance from parents and appropriate measures by governing bodies, the overweight problem among children and adults can be controlled. In conclusion, by including workouts and a healthy diet in our lifestyle we can maintain a healthy weight.