In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

Earlier, students preferred to complete their education in their homeland only, however, there is a paradigm shift in this trend nowadays, as most students like to go abroad and learn. This movement in the academic domain has both advantages and disadvantages which shall be discussed in this essay. To begin with, an advantage could be that students studying from reputed universities are able to receive a high-quality education from qualified faculties at universities abroad. Children these days are well aware and focussed on the course they want to pursue and the university where they would like to study. This clarity if vision makes them compete with students of other nations and secures their admissions in renowned colleges. Learning from reputed teachers help them in gaining better insights for their future career as well. In addition to this, once a student clears the university examinations the prospect of getting an excellent job and staying in another nation get enhanced. This adds to their diversified enrichment of skills, knowledge and they get to experience the local culture better after graduation. However, on the flip side, a major disadvantage of moving out of the motherland for schooling involves hefty payments ranging from academic fees to hostel, food fees. This intensifies the burden on parents to arrange such a humongous amount of money which ultimately leads them to the path of bank loans with high-interest rates. Instead, studying in their own backyard saves a lot of cash which can come handy in future life. Another disadvantage is learners flying abroad miss the love and affection of their biggest support system i.e. family. It is a globally accepted fact that the family.members are the ones who take the first step in pulling a person out from dire situations. Hence, when you are alone in a foreign land you have nobody to fall back on in unfortunate circumstances. In conclusion, although an individual receives qualitative learning abroad and prospects if jobs are relatively high yet moving out is a risky decision due to the large sum involved and missing out on family support. However, inferring from the recent movements of students, it can be said that this trend is here to stay.