Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced.

In recent times, humans tend to generate more waste then they did in the past. This I presume is basically because we are in the consumer's era where goods are substandard and affordable thus can be replaced within hours but the authorities can implement measures to mitigate the public throw away culture since it is the fundamental source of the massive trash. One good reason why the world population produces so much rubbish is because of our easily discardable nature. Presently goods are cheap and inferior hence, one can simply trash any material as well as, replace it within 24 hours or the next day. Unfortunately, companies are capitalizing on it, therefore, advertises endlessly to ensure the masses buys and sometimes purchasing items not useful to them. For example, manufacturing firms now produce a quarterly edition of their highly in demands goods thereby encouraging the public to keep up with the latest trend. However, Authorities can device means to curtail this upsurging culture before it escalates further by enforcing laws such as: products standardization so to establish that the products are durable as a result, would lasts more longer which invariably reduces the discarding turnover of fairly used items. For instance, China's boycott in Nigeria after it produced substandard nose mask during the pandemic ensured that the ones imported subsequently were of  a better standard. In conclusion, it is obvious that goods are now cheap so it is easy to trash even when they are still in good shape thus encourages the world to focus more on replacing rather than repairing the old one. The good news is that the government can implement policies that would restrict manufactures from producing low-quality goods which would, in turn, eradicate the publics rapid replacement tendency at the same time reducing the amount of rubbish produced.