In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many countries, potential employees are not indicating how old they are when applying for work. Moreover, rejecting a potential employee due to their maturity is forbidden. Certainly, this is a positive development and supports the equality of people. However, there are reasons why some employers think that this is a negative development. Some companies prefer to hire younger people due to the desire to create the image of a company dominated by youth which promises a more prospective future. Secondly, there is an opinion that younger people bring fresher knowledge to a team, and being more flexible they can quickly adapt to new working condition. Finally, some employers think that some jobs are not suitable for an older person. For example, a job where physical fitness is required, such as in the construction industry where heavy lifting is needed, or in other work where someone is expected to be physically active all day. I think employability should not be based on the age of a worker. Everyone should have an equal opportunity to get an appropriate job. Furthermore, older workers are more experienced and they are more skilled in comparison with younger workers. For example, working for many years in the law or accountancy area, older people may have very valuable skills that could be useful for a company. Moreover, young people are not able to bring to a company their experience which is also a precious contribution to the organisation. An older person can share their experience with them and play a role as a mentor. In conclusion, definitely, rejection of people from a work because of their age is not right, it is a negative development which is against human rights, discriminating people to get an appropriate job. Hopefully, choosing employees based on old age will be illegal everywhere, in every country.