Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the positive and negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In our modern world, technological progress has made it possible for many people to use gadgets including computers. Moreover, access to a computer has grown so much that a rare child does not play digital games. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of playing digital games and give some suggestions to reduce the negative impact of it. With regard to positive effects, educational and logical online games improve solving problems and cognitive skills, develop perseverance and improve logical thinking of a child. Research shows that children who play digital games read faster and better absorb what they are reading. However, the prolific use of gadgets for playing games concerns many parents as they cause many potential psychological negative effects on youth. The most significant one is the formation of addiction to gaming applications. Children may become withdrawn, and violent games have a bad effect on the fragile psyche. Furthermore, physical development is affected too. For example, sitting a long time in the wrong posture in front of a screen develops problems of the spine and joints, and also it may result in blurred vision. To minimise the negative effects of playing games on computers, parents should not allow children to play too long, the time must be limited. They should encourage children to play more physically active games, organising sports or other clubs of interest. Most digital games have a rate of violence and when parents buy games they must pay attention that they choose ones that are suitable for their juvenile. Additionally, Parents should take an active interest in what kind of games their children play and how they affect them. In conclusion, increasing access to a computer leads to many children playing computer games. It has both, positive and negative sides, but if parents take some adequate precautionary measures the bad effects on children could be minimised.