In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, it is usual that people go to large shopping centres or malls to shop their products. Unfortunately, the consequence of this new behaviour leads to the closure of many local businesses. Like many things in life, there are positive and negative aspects related to this topic. Although there are many beneficial points in this development, the negative aspects are relatively sad and the answer is just unfulfilling. Big companies are more and more advancing and earning space both in urban areas and in the countryside. This development could be beneficial in some matters, for instance, the increase of employment rate, cheaper prices on products massively produced, more availability of products and so on. Furthermore, it is understandable why people are getting used to purchase in these places rather than in their local shops. Because they generally provide a large scale of products, they are frequently available and certainly reliable. On the other hand, local stores carry a city tradition with them, they employ local people and provide unique goods for the population of the area. For example, you usually won't be able to find a particular food or a specific piece of cloth in big stores, because they are produced only around certain areas. However, this is usually not enough to keep these stores up and running, because big companies usually provide unfair competition with them. Therefore, this fight may end up putting an end on this tradition if the local population doesn't provide enough support to their locals. In conclusion, unfortunately, there is no easy answer to this question. While local stores can't compete with major shops, they are not breaking any rules even the ones that support unethical practices. In fact, they are usually providing a better service, and as a result, people will most likely prefer them than shopping at local stores. Said that, is up to the local people to support their costumes and keep local stores running.