Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

In the early 2000's, the usage of social media is dramatically increase. The former aims are just to maintain the friendship and make new friends. However, nowadays, it has been used to market some particular products, which can influence what people buy. In my view, I really agree with that statement. Therefore, in this essay, I will give 2 reasons why I support that idea. The main reason is that it increase our lust to have a new thing. Basically, it is our nature to have all human matters as a fulfilment of our curiousity. Firstly, the advertisement that comes to our social media is not random, it appears because we or our friends has been searched for that product previously, and somehow, our digital matter encodes it as the thing we want. Furthermore, this product publicity will often show in our timeline and unconciously, it rise our deeply desire. For example: at first, we just want to see the brand in detail through the digital media, which is the simple way to have the information. However, after that time, the same advertisement will always pop up in out timeline, then, it will increase our desire to buy it. As a result, we are influenced by that online marketing and immediately buy that thing, even though we do not need it. Another reason is to stay up to date. Using the social media will allow you to see what is happening right now, especially the trend. Individuals that using social media is people that have the tendency to follow the trend. Through sharing via digital platform or seeing the celebrity model through instagram, for instance, it will inflict our lust to have the same object as the people in common have. Finally, it will drive us to buy some particular commodity that might help us to stay up to date. In a nutshell, because of our desire and our ambition to stay up to date, the online markerting is truly influenced our decission to buy. Hence, in the end, I would like to reiterate my belief that I agree with that statement.