As the number of private cars has increased, so too has the level of pollution in many cities. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem? Give reasons for your answer?

The usage of personal vehicles has been increasing these years and as a result,the pollution levels are also rising steadily in metropolitan cities. There are many ways to tackle this problem. With regard to Urbanization, there are many migrants from various villages settling in large cities for a better lifestyle. The handling of public transport has decreased over the years due to improper functioning, irregular timings, fewer facilities and management. For example, travelling by bus in the rains is a bad idea, as there are many leaky areas within the bus making it difficult to sit in a seat. Sometimes periodical vehicle checking is not done, thus leading to a lot of breakdowns,especially buses. Some of the passengers mainly the lower strata are unable to afford the tickets due to price rise. So people have turned to help their private wheels for comfortable navigation. Now that they have started using them, the roads are filled with automobiles and cycles rather than common transits like the buses, autos. Burning of fossil fuels has increased so much that, not only the pollution levels increased but also its depletion. As a repercussion, gives rise to Global Warming. Therefore to prevent this, Governments must make it a point to emphasise the harmful effects of Global Warming, awareness must be created among the school and the office level. By introducing the metros in Chennai has made driving a lot easier and faster and also new buses on routes that are travelled heavily by people have also made it easier. Bus passes are given to students and other low economic backgrounds to avoid spending on tickets. Own vehicles can be used but not to ride over short distances that can be walked to get things. This benefits the person physically and mentally. To sum up, there are many ideas and ways to navigation but it depends on the individual to take the benefits of public transportation.