Weddings are more expensive in many countries nowadays when compared to the past . What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

People save money their whole life in order to spend it on their children weddings. Nowadays marriages have become more than traditions and people spend more than what they intend to do on them so that they can raise their social image. In my opinion, weddings have become more expensive as compared to the past and this is a negative development for a society. The predominant factors resulting in expensive parties are status and inflation. In other words, a lot of parents throw huge wedding receptions for their children in order to maintain their social status. Most of them believe that their social status is directly equivalent to the amount of money they spend on various functions. Additionally, price inflation is another aspect of this issue. For instance, in the past, if you have invited a hundred guests, it would cost you around five hundred per person but now it is way higher and is around two thousand per person. Nevertheless, there are potential solutions that could help in reducing this problem. First of all, rather than inviting thousands of guests in the parties, there should be a limit to the number of people given an invitation. Furthermore, the government should put a price check on the amount that is being charged by the organisers. For example, a party hall can only charge up to a certain amount for catering, which is decided by the government. Such basic steps can significantly help us in minimizing the negative effect of expensive weddings. This essay has discussed the reasons why marriages are not so cheaper as compared to those in the past. Finally, I believe costly weddings have brought a negative impact on our society.