Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent days, people hold different views about whether we have become more or less dependent on others. While some argue that people are more reliant to others like they used to, I believe that we are more independent than people were in the past. On the one hand, there are reasons why it could be argued that we are more dependent on each other now. First, life is complex and difficult, especially, the cost of living has increased so dramatically. Young adults tend to ask their parents for help when buying a house. Because property prices are higher than ever if,without help, it would be impossible for many people to pay a deposit and a mortgage. Second, people seem to be more ambitious nowadays,they want a better life for their families. So, both parents usually need to work full-time and they depend on their support from grandparents and babysitters for childcare. On the other hand, I would agree with those who believe that we are more independent these days.Some people think that dependence on others will be a waste of time. Also, becoming independent will increase confidence to face a difficult situation and it helps in enhancing decision-making skills. For example, many parents often encourage their children to study abroad instead of going to the local university because this experience makes them understand the outside environment which helps to build their self-confidence when they learn to live alone. In addition, thanks to the great popularity of the internet which allows us to work alone and from any part of the world. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that we are more reliant on each other, my own view is that we are more independent than ever.