In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Local shops have closed down in recent decades, as customers prefer large malls or shopping complexes to purchase their needs. Although this may seem like a positive development, it has its negatives also. This essay deals with both. With regard to this, as the population increases, the amount of goods and storage space also increases, thus leading to expanding the stores both in urban and rural areas. This not only provides the necessity, but it also helps in employment, deals and offers on most heavily purchased products to attract people. It is the reason why they prefer these shops than the local vendors because they sell large scale products, the availability of stock is also present. On the other hand, community stores usually employ people from their own native place and unique products are sold here. For example, street foods cannot be found in big malls and are located only in certain areas. Clothing can also be taken as an example. There might be a variety of clothes in large resellers but only the very unique design and pattern are confined to local retails. But this is not enough to win a battle against larger plazas and this might put an end to the neighbourhood shops without the support of the population. In conclusion, although the localized shops cannot compete with the others, there are certain customers who would buy goods from them and give us better service rather than entering into a plaza, but it's up to the people to support them.