In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The stock market has been extremely competitive nowadays. People choose to do shopping in large malls instead of the small stores located on the street as they would like to pursue a higher living standard. As a consequence, an abundance of small local stores is closed down. As a whole, this is a positive development for national revenue. This essay will discuss the benefits that this development brings. Firstly, shops in large shopping malls can provide better merchandise quality to customers. This is because these shops are relatively professional such that quality is then guaranteed. For instance, Apple store is an enormous business firm and therefore, their system is concise and mechanical. As a result, customers are willing to purchase Apple’s electronic gadgets in comparison with the products from other small shops. On the other hand, this development avoids the operation of unlicensed small stores since stores in shopping centres are registered through the government office. In this case, it reduces the number of cases for selling fake items. Consumers can purchase the products safely and more positive feedback are collected for the shops. As the number of visiting customers increases, the economy of the shopping centre boasts. Hence, this offers a positive effect on national revenue. In conclusion, the improvement of quality and reduced number of unlicensed small shops have resulted as more consumers decide to purchase products in the large shopping malls. As the malls’ revenue raises, the economics will enhance and result in a positive effect on a country.