Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling if for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste management is an important issue, which we as a society are trying to resolve since decades. While there has been an increase in the recycling of waste originating from home, some still believe that it doesn't suffice and imposing laws would help to bolster it. I advocate the notion of laws for recycling household waste, as penalties can be a good way to moderate the unchecked waste. Even though, there has been a rise in household waste classification, better disposing mechanism, and reprocessing waste, people might need some motivation to achieve desired recycling marks. Firstly, penalising unprocessed waste, will classify the proper recycling of waste as a civic duty. Also, it will make people think twice before just dumping trash in the wrong bins. A plethora of concerns like traffic rules, jaywalking, and public urination have been brought in check by legislative laws imposing fines on the accused. Moreover, the introduction of laws would bring this issue in the limelight, drawing people's attention towards it. We have seen so many instances, where a forgotten issue got impetus when the idea of laws against it was pitched. Consequently, laws shouldn't necessarily be of monetary in nature, it can also aim at training individuals. Recently, Germany had imposed a law, which provided residents with a ticket, every time, they throw junk in the wrong category of the bin. When one receives 5 tickets they have to go through a mandatory class of waste management. To recapitulate, if standard ways to inspire people have failed, legally condemning an act would definitely boost the cause. Laws help to create a set of guidelines for society, and it is high time that recycling to becomes a part of it.