In many countries, people are living in a "throwaway society" where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

These days, throwaway culture is rising at an alarming rate in which people discard their old products even before utilizing it to its full potential and replace them with a new one. In my perspective, a busy lifestyle and lucrative advertisements are the primary reasons for this outgoing trend. In this essay, I will illuminate these causes in detail and their detrimental effects on the environment. To being with, there are two primary reasons which fuel this move of throwing old things and buying new ones. Firstly, in this fast pace highly competitive world, people are too busy to mend their damaged items; instead, they prefer to buy a new to avoid the hassle of visiting the repairing centre again and again. For instance, with the advancement in technology and e-commerce site such as Amazon, Flipkart etc. products can be purchased on the single click of the mouse. So, it is easier to purchase the items from home rather than going out to get the things repaired. Secondly, these days companies launch a new version of their products very frequently even before obsoleting the previous one. These products are advertised in such a manner that people couldn't resist their temptation of buying it. For example, Apple keeps on launching its new iPhone every year, hence putting pressure on the people to buy it for maintaining their status quo and it also gives them the sense of being accepted by society. All these aspects are galvanising this trend of throwing replacing things. Admittedly, this has germinated many environmental problems. In order to meet the demand for new products frequently, the natural resources are utilized at a horrible speed beyond the limits of maintaining ecological balance. For example, my mother has a habit of replacing furniture every second year. So, it leads to the cutting of more trees for timber, ultimately leading to depletion of natural resources. Also, the dumping of e-waste is a huge problem the environment has to combat with, it pollutes soil, water affecting many organisms and marine life etc. So, all these actions have hazardous effects on our surroundings, eventually disturbing the ecological balance of the earth. To conclude, I recapitulate that throwaway culture is thriving because of one's hectic life schedule and tempting advertisements which leads to an increase in demand for the products. Hence, the atmosphere is getting affected in a bad way. The government should take some actions and pass the laws to stop all this stuff.