Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few generations ago almost all food that citizens of each provincial ate was produced themselves. These days more than 90 per cent of the foodstuff is imported. In my view, this is a negative phenomenon, while producing its own foodstuffs can improve people's health and an economy of the country. Firstly, sustenance is not only energy and satisfaction but also our health. Eating three meals a day we, unfortunately, do not have knowledge of where that food comes from and how farmed was. We all understand, that foodstuff is often packed, repacked, refrigerated, sold, and resold many times over. Worse still, big agricultural and farming companies use chemical fertilizes and antibiotics being forced by the economic system into intensifying their production. I reckon, that products growing on local farms are always better, have more flavour and nutritional values. Farmers, in their turns, are taking care of the and, for example, using organic and traditional methods of growing, what is good for future crops and future generations. Secondly, importing impacts negatively on the economic condition of the country. In my opinion, states should build their own food system. The reason is that local business owns somebody, who is local, who spends money locally, pays taxes locally, and employs local people. Money, therefore, circulates within the country and increases the economy. That is why I wish, the shelves were laid by national goods. In conclusion, from my point of view, people should support indigenous farmers and small meal businesses. I agree that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves, because it may have a positive impact on the health of citizens and the conomy of the state as well.