Some people believe that the internet will replace traditional books in the future. Do you believe this would be a positive or a negative development?

Some people say that conventional books will be replaced by the world wide web in the years to come. I think this is a positive development because people will have instant access to any book they want by surfing the internet, and also it will help reducing deforestation. Replacing traditional books by the internet will provide easy access to people for books. This is because they will not have to go to a library or bookstore to get a book. Just by surfing the web they will find any books they want and also they can read them immediately. For example, when Amazon started selling e-books, many libraries and bookstores in the United States reduced their customers by 80%. Moreover, reducing the number of printed books and replace them with electronic books will help reducing deforestation. Many books are made of non-recycled materials leading to deforestation to get more paper and by changing these traditional books to e-books, those materials are not needed anymore. For example, Flexiwood company dropped cutting down trees by 20% the last five years because of the low demand of papers from book editorials. In conclusion, the replacement of traditional books by the internet is a good development because people will have their own library in their electronic devices and also it will help the environment by stopping the deforestation from many companies because of the low demand for paper.