Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more beneficial both environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

There are a majority of food items which are being shipped from other countries which contribute to the GDP of a nation’s economy. However, some people perceive that by consuming local food, one is contributing in the nation’s welfare by conserving the environment in the form of promoting its products and also, it could be cheap since imported food undergoes an exorbitant tax. Therefore, in my viewpoint, I will highlight the advantages over disadvantages which are stated below. Firstly, the consumption of domestic food boosts production and encourages small farm landowners to grow and establish more local farm lands. Without these small farm lands, the land might otherwise be used for industrial setup or commercial use which disturbs the environment. For instance, In India, the farmers are motivated to use the organic process of farming which is beneficial for the native people. It is more earth-friendly and healthier for our diet since it directly comes from the farm without any chemicals, unlike the imported food. Secondly, the utilization of local food is less expensive as compared to imported food. It is cheaper and reasonable since it does not include customs. Additionally, the agriculture sector generates a lot of employment opportunities and is the only source of revenue for farmers. For instance, in order to earn money, a farmer and his entire family are dependent on harvest to meet the demand of urban vendors. To summarize, we can clearly see that the advantages contribute to the well-being of society. Therefore, in order to promote domestic food, the Government should limit the production of imports and aid the farmers to produce local food.