In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing .What problems will this cause for individuals and society ? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

There is no doubt that the health sector has advanced greatly in recent times. This influence even can be seen regarding the longevity of mankind. The strain on the economy and family have resulted from this, however, by raising the retirement age is the most feasible solution. Regarding the adverse effects of long-living humans is that this can result in draining of the national economy. In other words, the group requires extensive social and medical supports since their age is so advanced. The huge amount of taxpayers contribution may channelise for this and the much pressing other areas may be dangerously neglected. Slowly and gradually, the country may experience severe backlashes, Italy, a country with an ageing population, for example, witnessing the same problem; poverty, lack of development, weaker economy. Nevertheless, despite the above-mentioned negative impact, the scenario can be reversed by introducing changes in the retirement age. This is because, by doing this, the aged generation can not only support themselves, but they can continue to contribute the tax system. Additionally, the government can encourage their workforce about saving money for old- age care, this would, significantly, minimise the financial burden of the authority. For instance, in India, citizens usually, save for themselves and the government has found success this and thus, it is clear that this is a proven method. In conclusion, while the old create a financial imbalance in society, increasing the pension age and motivating to have some savings would limit the gravity of the side-effects for a great extend. It is highly recommended that every country in the world should create a policy to ensure, they are not excluded from the mainstream.