Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Must more funds be spent by the administration on railways in comparison to roadways transportation? In my opinion, due to a drastic rise in urbanization and industrialization, the need for optimized means of transportation becomes a highlight. Thus, in virtue of such outcomes, it is feasible to layout railways to connect remote areas to benefit all the strata of society. Railways have the capacity of carrying heavy, large goods and act as a mode of transport to the people. This assists in the transportation of cereals, fruits and vegetables and thus act as an urban bridge between the industrialized and agricultural areas. Items having low shelf life such as milk and eggs can be transported to the cities easily. Roadways might ware out due to climatic changes and re-tarring of these costs more revenue. But, in case of the railways, the tracks have very low chances of Waring out and act as a long-standing, long term investment by the administration. Due to the invention of electric engines, the usage of steam and coal empowered engines is ruled out thus saving on the non-renewable sources of energy. Electric engines reduce manual labour and increase speed. The metro trains in cities act as a suitable example for this, as they personify the advantages of railways. Along with consumer benefits, the rail stations and trains give rise to employment opportunities to those in rural areas as train masters, cleaners, ticket issuing counters etc, and thus help in maintaining a balanced economy. Thus, having stated the capabilities of railway transport, in my opinion, stands as a wise choice of investment by the government of both developed and developing countries.