Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

It is undeniable that international trade has become popular among countries. Therefore, some goods are imported from different nations or cities these days. However, some people contend that dependence on local foodstuff is beneficial in the terms of cost and environment-friendly. I personally believe that using products of our own city or area brings more benefits but its few drawbacks could not be ignored. There are quite a few reasons why I believe that people's preference in their own area's cuisine has immense advantages. If the dwellers accept the products of their own city or province, then the local businesses could be profitable as they could sell more and more items to make more money. Moreover, transportation expenses could be less, if there will be no delivery of food and eventually people could get the products on the regular prices because there will be no shipping cost. In addition to that, the food which is delivered by other countries or cities usually contained high packaging which ultimately increases the amount of waste or garbage. For example, according to the news of the Hindustan Times, there are several cooking items exported by Mexico to Canada have a very high plastic packaging. Thus, from the above-mentioned instances, it is clear that relying on local food products is worthwhile. Conversely, sometimes it is seen that a particular area, city or country is not being able to produce certain vegetables or fruits so in that case depending on others is quite considerable. Also, almost every country has immigrants who love to consume their cultural food items and if importing and exporting is an option, then definitely food could be shipped from their home country. For instance, there are several items of Indian food which are displayed in Walmart Canada these days and these items influence the immigrants to enjoy the taste of their own nationality. Overall, it is important in some circumstances to get a shipment of food products. To conclude, it is true that due to globalization people are free to choose their snacks at a global level but according to some people's perception local meal is less expensive and ecologically safe and I am also in favour with this viewpoint as I have discussed several positive aspects of the trend despite its few disadvantages.