In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary nations, people keep immigrating from rural areas to modern urban. Personally, I believe that this results in catastrophic problems. Immigration to megacities can bring about numerous drawbacks. To start with, people are moving to cities in order to seek job and educational opportunities and recreational facilities which can immediately lead to urban sprawl. That is, more and more high-rise apartments and public transport have to be provided in demand of this overpopulation. Therefore, there will be inadequate housing and facilities for these city dwellers. Take Tehran (the capital of Iran) as an example. Nowadays, Tehran is a concrete jungle. Overpopulation in this city not only has led to inadequate accommodation but also has initially resulted in a second thorny issue which is traffic congestion. Furthermore, people who live in megacities encounter bumper-to-bumper traffic every single day. To clarify, inefficient public transport and loads of private cars on the streets are the most potential factors for this traffic issue. For instance, when you want to drive from the west part of Tehran to the east part, you will mire in standstill traffic which takes at least three hours to arrive at your destination. What’s more, this massive exodus from land to cities may bring about abandoned countryside. This means that, more agrarian is abandoning their farms and lands in order to fill job vacancies in cities where they can gain more money. However, leaving farms behind results in less cultivation and a shortage in food supply. Hence, the less cultivation and productivity, the more food scarcity and dependency on other societies. To conclude, immigration from the countryside to the megacities leads to so many downsides such as traffic congestion, inadequate housing, and food shortage. Therefore, I am totally convinced that this is a negative improvement.