Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries display artefacts and relics which represents the culture and tradition of a specific community. Some people opine that only artefact belonging to local history should be displayed, while others argue otherwise. I believe that only local works and past should be focused on by the museums rather than showing the international item. Museums not only enlighten us about past but also help us in learning the heritage of the society we dwell in. First of all, the building space is small for displaying various artefacts from all over the world and the funds that the foundation receives from the government are not sufficient to purchase artefacts from different countries. Moreover, there is a lack of interest in visitors to view items that do not belong to their culture. For example, the gallery in Detroit has fewer visitors to view the Indian artefact collection. On the other hand, there is a variety of items that must be on display so that they can attract foreign visitors. The tourists do not want to see the same collection which they have viewed in their home country. For instance, people prefer to visit the national museum since it provides many items on display where the visitors can have some sense of connectivity. Finally, preserving national history and artefacts helps encouraging local talent which makes more sense. To recapitulate, it is good if a museum has many items in their collection, but preserving local works helps in inculcating strong patriotism and national hood amongst masses. It is important thus to preserve local history rather than foreign relics which have little or no meaning to the public.