The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems? What measures can be used to solve these problems?

In recent years, more and more people are migrating from rural areas to cities. This trend has detrimental effects on both agricultural as well as urban areas. This essay will discuss the problems associated with the movement of people and simultaneously suggest some measures to deal with the issues. To begin with, the relocation of people is having an adverse effect on both villages as well as cities. People moving out from crossroads is disturbing the agri-economy. This is causing a shortage of labour in agricultural fields, thus, affecting decreasing the agri-output of the country. Another problem associated with this migration is the degradation of natural resources. This is because land and water are overused as a result of a large number of people moving into the city. To illustrate, water quality in metropolitan cities like Toronto is reduced by 20% in the last few years. Therefore, the movement of people from small towns to developed areas is disadvantageous for both places. While the problems may seem intractable, there are measures that can be adapted to control them. Firstly, the reason for this migration is the job opportunities available in urban areas. Therefore, by providing equal job openings in the under-developed area can keep a check on this resettlement of individuals. For instance, the government can allocate subsidies to the industries to settle their plants in rural places and thus generating a job bank. Secondly, the development of public infrastructures like transport, shopping complexes, and health facilities could also refrain the people from moving. In conclusion, the migration of people is a complex problem to solve. This essay discussed a few of the drawbacks of this on the economy as well as natural resources. While issues are evidently clear, there are measures that can be taken to alleviate them.