In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

These days the act of shopping is considered as a major recreational activity. In contrast, earlier individuals considered shopping to be a chore. I personally opine that this changing trend cannot be considered completely positive. In the past, people had to visit a variety of stores to avail their daily essentials. Also, the range of items available within a person's budget was limited. Customers were more cautious while making their purchases. In comparison, today, shoppers can choose their products from a plethora of options in shopping malls. Furthermore, technological reforms have made it convenient for people to order the products that are delivered at the doorstep. For example, a few decades ago, my parents would travel to a wholesale market in the city before festivals to buy gifts clothes and decorative materials. However, now the same items are ordered through online portals like Amazon and Flipkart avoiding the tiresome journey. Nowadays, modern shopping complexes offer a variety of amenities under a single room. With people having busy work schedules, families have little to no moments together. Thus, spending quality time shopping with friends and families has a positive impact on one's mental health people can perform different tasks within a single complex like watch movies with friends, parents can spend time in gaming zones with children and families can share a meal together in food courts and restaurants. On the flip side, the increased comfort levels in shopping malls and online portals have made people spend more money buying things that are not just unnecessary but are unaffordable. Easy payment methods through cards have pushed many youngsters into debt. In addition, the mesmerising and dazzling image portrait through advertisements has successfully lured people to purchase the items. Nevertheless, many teenagers tend to forget the beauty of nature and overlook relief provided by the fresh outdoor atmosphere. For instance, in the past people spent most of their spare time playing sports walking in the garden so along the beach. These activities helped in rejuvenating and refreshing people physically as well as mentally. On the contrary, the latest trend of spending long hours in malls or on phones shopping makes a person lethargic and drains out their energy. In conclusion, although shopping has become an important and integral part of the modern world, I firmly believe that people should be aware of its negative impacts. Hence, people should hey show only for necessary items. Instead of shopping, individuals should consider taking up other healthier activities.