In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Up until a decade ago, hardcover books were a major source of information accompanied by certain other paper-based materials such as magazines, newspapers. Nevertheless, with the innovation of electronic media, similar knowledge is now available with mere a single tap on one’s mobile device. Whilst, some believe that the aforementioned have some drawbacks, however, others, including me, entrust the opposite. In this essay,we will discuss both these aspects along with some references. Firstly, the evolution of the electronic media turned out to be a saviour for the environment, since, with its introduction, a huge decline has been observed in cutting down of the trees for making paper sheets. Secondly, the data available on the internet tend to get updated quickly as compared to those of paperback. For example, a girl browsing for a word in a dictionary will have to sort alphabetically which will consume more time as compared to typing the similar word on the search engine and getting the results in a fraction of seconds. Thereby, making it a time-saving activity which requires very minimal effort. On the other hand, it often becomes difficult to identify genuine websites among the cluster of fake profiles, besides, a wrong click may push the user into a zone of cyber-attack unknowingly. Although, there is an abundance of data available on the internet by so many anonymous users that it becomes difficult to validate their authenticity. For instance, a non-technical person will not be able to comprehend the nuances between a genuine and a fraudulent website, hence, eventually may end up losing all his or her credit card information, personal details and so on. Furthermore, staying online for longer hours can pressurize our eyes immensely, as a result, speeding up the process of declining one’s mental and physical health. To conclude, it is an individual’s responsibility to upgrade his or her knowledge about the ongoing advancements yet parallelly steer clear of dangers as well. Additionally, awareness must be promoted by the authorities to every citizen by initially encouraging them to use the technology wisely following with the knowledge of its ill-effects. After all, modern problems require a modern approach. In a nutshell, I strongly opine that the advantages outnumber the disadvantages in this given scenario.