Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

Many people claim that there is an ever-increasing number of children who are overweight. This essay argues that the main cause of this phenomenon is the overconsumption of sugary food by those youngsters whilst the practice of sports and a balanced diet are the prime solutions. It is conspicuous that children are fat because they consume a lot of products that contain sugar.Indeed, sugary food is the prime cause of childhood obesity. This is because sugar is an aliment that increases weight when it is frequently eaten, which may be detrimental to children's health. Furthermore, those youngsters tend naturally to enjoy sugar products more than adults. In addition to that, sugar is considered a drug because it is addictive. In this regard, manufacturers put a high rate of sugar in their products to make consumers addicted to it. For example, "Nestle" which is a famous brand of chocolate, put more than 50% of sugar in its products. On the other hand, there are viable solutions to fight against this nutritional catastrophe. In fact, the practice of sports is consequential in managing obesity as sports make children lose weight. Therefore, parents should be aware of the fact that they have to encourage their kids to have physical activities. Moreover, it would be pertinent to set up awareness campaigns at schools, which aim to teach those fat youngsters how to have a better diet in addition to showcasing the risks of obesity to health. For instance, in Casablanca, Morocco, each year, a special day is dedicated to schools to learn about obesity,its dangers and how to deal with it. In conclusion, the abundance of sugar in daily food is the prime cause of childhood obesity. However, this phenomenon can be handled by encouraging children to practice sports and establishing awareness campaigns at schools.It is crystal clear that obesity is a fight that should involve every member of our society.