Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extend to you agree?

The brian intensive subjects such as maths and philosophy are often considered to be non-essential to be learnt by each student. Therefore, some argue to set such courses to be optional in the curriculum, while others disagree. I certainly believe that it is imperative to gain significant knowledge of these rather than avoid them as a whole. It is a general perception amongst the people that the subjects consisting of mathematics, science and philosophy aren't everyone's cup of tea. Few students struggle quite a lot to even pass such exams, as they are out of their interest circle. Additionally, these courses might not have any noticeable impact on their future career as they progress in their field of interest. Therefore, the advocate of these pupils emphasis on the exclusion or at least makes them optional to be chosen. Thus, the average students would not suffer to put the effort in a way where it would not benefit them in the long run. In contrary, few argue on the involvement of these subject in our real life, such as maths and science. It is intuitively obvious that maths is an integral part of our daily life, making a home budget, calculating taxing, managing monthly bills and paying off loans, all involve calculations, although not complex ones. Similarly, science subjects could make our life easier as we could know certain concepts relating to electric power, voltage or pressure, to read general descriptions on a common household gadget and appliances. Hence, the basics should have learnt at early education to survive well in the real life. To sum up, although people argue whether certain subjects should be classified as mandatory in syllabus or not, due to the difficulty level of those. In my perspective, it is necessary to master the basic skills which are crucial and could assist in our daily life.