Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Improvements in technology have made major impacts on the human being. While some argue that the gap between the haves and the have nots is more significant, others believe in the opposite side. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. With the advancements in research and products, many giant tech companies may significantly increase their income, which leads to more earnings for their owners. For example, during Covid19, leading tech firms like Apple, Amazon or Google have significantly increased their incomes despite the impacts of the pandemic, although many companies in other industries face negative earnings. Also, many people lost their jobs and may still need to use services provided by those companies. With all of the reasons, it can be said that the haves are becoming richer and the have nots are poorer. However, the technology also opens up doors to tools that may help the poor to earn money easier. For instance, drop-shipping, a kind of product that developed in recent years, which help people to start selling without having to invest much money. This service will free business owners from inventory and storage fee, which might be a good start for those who do not have a large investment. Thus, poor people might start businesses without worrying too much about the initial investment. With this reason, advance technologies might be able to loosen the gap between the rich and the poor. To conclude, technology might be a key to make rich people to be richer or to help the poor to earn more money. In my opinion, I believe if the poor can improve their skills and take advantages of the technology, the rich and poor gap may decrease.